Pedal Forward

Image

So today, during a frequent spout of online shopping (please shred my debt card) I confronted the fact that I’ve been wanting a new bike for a while now.

The difference between owning a bike now, as an adult, and owning a bike as a cool kid is that I can no longer ride my bike on the sidewalk without being a pain in the ass.

So I’m surfing through craigslist and I don’t want one of those bikes that make you lean super forward cause well, I’m tall and I’m figuring that won’t be too great for my spine (just a theory). I do, but I don’t want one of those pleasure low rider bikes you see cruising along Martha’s Vineyard cause face it, its not practical. Finally I settle on this right in-between bike, fast, neutral colored, right price, totally capable of poppin a wheelie if necessary (look out boys).

Then just as I’m emailing this guy about how I REALLY want this bike, I remember above problem…I’m going to have to ride this thing IN THE STREET.

This is not my tonk a truck of a car. Its a piece of metal with no seat belt and everyone hates bikers, especially slow leisurely ones like myself. This could be the ultimate bought and never used item.

OR

It could be a really brave new adventure and I could have super sculpted legs and save money on gas and get over a strange fear of people in their cars staring at me…

 

Adult lesson 632: Things that make you sweat profusely are not always awful, but life changing. Get better deodorant & a super cute helmet.

Leave a Reply

